It appears that wiping your game eight years after release may not be as popular as Ryzom’s developers anticipated. Following the announcement that Ryzom would be merging down to one server, wiping all characters in the process, community response has resulted in those plans being nixed partially. As long as a player is subscribed at the time of the servers going down, they will not be wiped.
All subscribed accounts on the day of closing of the current servers will keep the appearance, the name but also the levels and skill bricks of all characters that are on the account.
Additionally, the server merge has been pushed back to September 29th.
(Source: Ryzom Website)